This article will cover the process and general information for basic sharing within Digital Media Hub.

Display of the share icon

If a user is viewing an object they have permission to share, a share icon will display. The permission that control display of the share icon include:

Permission

Use

CreateClipShare

Required to share an asset

ShareCollections

Required to share an owned Collection


The basic create share form

Once the share icon is selected, a share form is displayed

The basic share form allows input of one or more recipients - the users (internal or external) that will receive access to the shared object. The recipients are specified with an email address. Only if the user has the CreateAnonymousShare permission

Depending on the type of object being shared, the basic share form may include some additional options.

  • Collections: The sharer can specify the access level of the share (editor or viewer)

Default share parameters

The basic create share form doesn’t allow edit of properties like expiration date or delivery options. Instead the default values are defined in site, account or user configurations. For assets and collections a default number of share days (days a share is valid) and default delivery options can be defined.

If there are no values defined in the configs, then a share will have a default share days of 30 and no delivery options.

Example configuration of share days and delivery options in the Admin App:


Delivering the share

Once the share has at least one recipient the sharer will have two options, sending a system generated notification to the recipients (SEND SHARE), or copying a list of URLs that can be delivered to the recipients (GET URL).


SEND SHARE - System Notification

The system generated notification is an email that is sent to each recipient. The email body includes a URL to the shared object. The branding and other body text is managed via the email template tools in the Admin App.

After clicking the ‘SEND SHARE’ button the confirmation screen will display. This will list all recipients for the share, and indicate if the email addresses are associated with either Internal (registered users) or External (not registered) recipients.


GET URL - Copy URLs

If the ‘GET URL’ option is selected a system generated email is NOT sent. Instead the confirmation screen will display URLs that can be copied and delivered by the sharer. The URLs will be different for ‘Internal’ registered users and ‘External’ non-registered users.

Did this answer your question?